apple

Grove-unmade

Last fall I waited in eager anticipation for my Grove Bamboo case. Simply put, Grove makes these wonderful, beautiful, bamboo laser-cut iPhone cases. In fact, they are now making one for the iPad as well. However, I must warn possible purchasers of the Grove cases that even through everyday use, your work-of-art case will likely fail within six months. Here is a picture of the bottom half of mine now:

Broken Grove Bamboo iPhone4 Case
Broken Grove Bamboo iPhone4 Case

One cannot argue that the Grove made iPhone4 case is nothing less than perfect. I have received more comments on how amazing the case is then I can count. However, for $89, a case should not fall apart after taking the bottom half of it off an on on a regular basis just so you can dock it or plug it into a car charger. That said, I may buy another one eventually, if Grove has strengthened their manufacturing process (and glue that holds the black trim to the bamboo). For now I’ll probably invest in a Vapor case that is all aluminum. Should help block the attenuation issues with my phone anyway.

3 thoughts on “Grove-unmade

  1. Yep, my beautiful Grove iPhone case fell apart after about 8 months of normal use. Gluing it just made it break somewhere else. Happened to my girlfriend’s Grove iPhone case too. And now, it is happening to my Grove iPad case. Will not be buying Grove again. I loved the cases but they are not functional at protecting and lasting very long at all.

  2. Hi – Jon from Twig Case Co. I suggest you check out our bamboo iPhone 5 case at http://www.twigcase.com. (we also make cases for the iPhone 4/4S) It’s easily the strongest case made from natural materials out there. It’s the only iPhone case certified by the FSC® and the Rainforest Alliance which means it comes from responsibly managed forests, it’s hand-made in Minnesota, and laser-engraved with great designs from some well known artists!

    …And it’s paper. :)

Leave a Reply

