software development, virtualization

The OVM^2 Initiative

Some of you have been e-mailing me recently, asking why I’ve been so uncharacteristically silent these past few months. Well, I’m finally ready to do the big reveal, to pull the covers off what I’ve been working on all this time. I’m pleased to announce the Open Virtualization Management and Monitoring (OVM^2) Initiative.

An ambitious project by Hyper9, OVM^2 aims to provide a completely free and open software stack for managing and monitoring leading virtualization platforms such as:

  • VMware ESX 3.x
  • VMware VirtualCenter 2.x
  • VMware ESX 4.x
  • VMware vCenter4
  • Microsoft Hyper-V
  • Citrix XenServer 5.x
  • *Amazon EC2
  • *KVM

Overview

The OVM^2 Initiative is supported by a series of open source software projects that Hyper9 is announcing and making available today under the BSD license:

  • Vangaea – Provides an open, RESTful interface and single sign-on access for communicating with leading hypervisors.
  • UVAPI – A Java library that provides a universal model and API for accessing different virtualization platforms.
  • JWbem – An on-going Java implementation of Microsoft’s Scripting Web-Based Enterprise Management (SWbem) API. JWbem allows Java developers to easily monitor and manage Microsoft Windows via Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI).
  • Hyper9-Common – Binds together all the other modules; a set of utilities providing common support.

When combined with supporting hypervisor SDKs, these projects fit together to form the basis of the OVM^2 Initiative.

OVM^2 Overview
OVM^2 Overview

Availability

I’ve been putting the finishing touches on the different parts of OVM^2 for a weeks now, and I’m finally satisfied enough with the various bits and pieces to approve the first public release of OVM^2, just in time for VMworld 2009.

In conjunction with the release, I recorded a quick demonstration highlighting some of the features of Vangaea, the RESTful API component of OVM^2. Take a look!

Support

Hyper9 needs your support! If you are interested in working on any component of OVM^2 please e-mail me at akutz at hyper9 dot com, and let me know for which project you think you can be a positive contributor.

*Coming Soon

10 thoughts on “The OVM^2 Initiative

  1. I don’t need them for a simple administrative UI. What it does have is a completely different architecture that scales much better than any GWT framework. Vaadin uses GWT for UI rendering only, but all processing is handled on the server side. I’ve run into too many issues where GWT’s JavaScript just can’t handle the logic I throw at it.

  2. They were not silly questions — they were quite proper and I wrestled with using ExtJS myself. Do not mistake my tone, ExtJS is a brilliant framework, and I do miss all of the wonderful widgets it provides. I appreciate your feedback immensely. I wish more people would provide their own comments so that I may weigh the pros and cons of opinions that I simply do not consider on my own. So thank you very much.

  3. Ok. I really appreciate what are you doing, but why “a simple administrative UI”?
    I use Vsphere Vcenter Client everyday and I’am tired of it’s not intuitive interface with lack of logic and usability mistakes. May be, it’s time to make a powerful user-friendly solution?

  4. First of all, would you please elaborate on where you think the vCenter client could be improved? Second of all, that is a brilliant idea. However, the UI am creating is really just a way to configure Vangaea. I still may yet create a full fledged management UI, in which case Vaadin would not work. I would then take another look at something like ExtJS or Sprout.

  5. Ок. But Vangae is a middle-level it’s аn API for hypervisors. It’s realy cool! But look at this http://www.vizioncore.com/free/vControl/index.php they produced tht multivendor hypervisor managment idea in this tool. It’s a free solution. No one is using it. Why? Because Heterogeneous virtualization is a myth! Neither CIO, nor admin is going to make a “virtual Zoo” from their datacenter. Even if they bought a virtualization as a SaaS.

    At a quick glance:
    Vsphere Vcenter Client doesn’t make drill-down analysis or managment via clicks, you need mans, putty, winscp. You can’t open properties of VM in a tree, or DataStores it is connected also. You can’t make group operations on a number of VM’s, like – changing same properties. You don’t have a dashboard or some kind of a servicedesk for a number of admins. To see natively type of OS installed in VM you need GREAT GuessMyOSToo plug-in. Maps as you Know – visualizing the architecure of a virtual enviroment, but it’s not interactive. You can only watch or scale the map. =)

Leave a Reply

